Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1991 GSXR Katana 750 Pros/Cons

7K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  mstephenson51 
#1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to the motorcycle community and am looking into my first purchase.

I'm buying a bike to beat the traffic. I hate rotting on the California freeways, and the traffic on the SR91 has become unbearable.

A co-worker of mine is selling a 1991 GSXR Katana 750. It is a low mileage bike with 14,000 miles on it. He's gone through it, replaced the sprocket, chain, put steel braided brake lines on it, rebuilt the carburetors, upgraded to a Busa spring (I think, or shock).

Could you guys and gals give me some in put on this bike. Is it a good buy as a first bike? Were there any known issues with it?

Thanks in advance!

Michael

#3 ·
A Katana really isn't a bad choice. It's comfy for either one, or two-up riding and you can get some nice hard bags for them - handy for commuting and carrying things.

It's basically an older generation air-cooled, carbed gsxr engine in a longer frame. It doesn't have quite the handling of a full blown sport bike, but it handles much better than a lot of the commuter-cruiser alternatives, and gets better mileage.

As far as a first bike, it is a 750 class bike, and it is a bit heavy, so it may be a little bit intimidating, but it's not overpowering either. Definitely get some form of riding instruction and experience first. One of my boyz (with a "z") got one as a first bike, and it worked out well for him.

#5 ·
thats not a bad price. the tuna's a great bike to start on. its forgiving, even the 750. as was mentioned, take the msf class. you can get years of service from that bike, or sell it in a year or two for exactly what you paid. great first choice. :thumbup:

#9 ·
I can't tell you for sure. The guy I'm buying it from has 20+ years experience with bikes and he even used to race them. I know he went all the way through the bike Christmas 2006.