GSXR.com

GSXR.com (https://www.gsxr.com/forumindex.php)
-   Tech and performance chat. (https://www.gsxr.com/13-tech-performance-chat/)
-   -   replaced sprocket and chain but have a question (https://www.gsxr.com/13-tech-performance-chat/241395-replaced-sprocket-chain-but-have-question.html)

gixxer6002007 04-20-2019 10:35 PM

replaced sprocket and chain but have a question
 
I might have tightened the master link a little too tight. I used a vernier caliper to measure and the master link is 2-4mm less compared to the other links. it doesnt kink but i can tell it doesnt move as freely as the others. do i need to redo it with a new master link? what do you all think?

Todd_Sails 04-21-2019 09:12 AM

What measurement are you getting 2-4mm less on? The width of the chain? That sounds like a lot. It doesn't kink? On a rear stand it rulls freely w/o one one or more of the links staying at an angle? Did it move freely by hand.

We may need some more info and the experts on here will be able to help I'm sure.

Vader225 04-21-2019 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gixxer6002007 (Post 3685951)
I might have tightened the master link a little too tight. I used a vernier caliper to measure and the master link is 2-4mm less compared to the other links. it doesnt kink but i can tell it doesnt move as freely as the others. do i need to redo it with a new master link? what do you all think?

Sounds like you got the wrong link up there. I'd get a new one and redo it.

coreyyok 04-21-2019 12:27 PM

What did you use to crimp the link? The 2-4mm sounds like alot if difference unless you crushed the link. If you plan on doing much bike mantinace I would look into investing in a chain tool to brake/rivet masterlinks. You can get them for little money and they make things much easier. I would check with calipers the link widths and your master and if it's binding can cause sprocket or chain damage. That could be dangerous for you and others around you if something fails. So, at the very least I would get a new link and ty again.

gixxer6002007 04-21-2019 02:01 PM

ooops sorry, the different is about .4mm but its hard to move by hand and it does stay a little kinked. Will it be ok to ride for a little bit till i get a new master link? I'll probably be changing it next week or so.

gixxer6002007 04-21-2019 08:28 PM

never mind, i put it on a stand and put it in gear and doesnt sound right. since i already have the chain tensioned to specs, can i just put the master link on the rear sprocket, pop the old master link it out and put and rivet the new master link?

Vader225 04-21-2019 09:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gixxer6002007 (Post 3685977)
never mind, i put it on a stand and put it in gear and doesn't sound right. since i already have the chain tensioned to specs, can i just put the master link on the rear sprocket, pop the old master link out and put and rivet the new master link?

Yes, that's what I would do, other thing I recommend is using this chain lubricant. I've found it works a lot better than anything else I've used. Remember it's better to be a little bit loose than too tight.

https://i5.walmartimages.com/asr/1e1...0&odnBg=FFFFFF

Chuckster 04-22-2019 06:17 AM

Does your chain tool have spacer plates to prevent crushing an o=ring?

Todd_Sails 04-22-2019 06:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vader225 (Post 3685979)
Yes, that's what I would do, other thing I recommend is using this chain lubricant. I've found it works a lot better than anything else I've used. Remember it's better to be a little bit loose than too tight.

https://i5.walmartimages.com/asr/1e1...0&odnBg=FFFFFF

This too is what I use.
I got it shipped from Wal Mart- of all places!
I got 6 cans so I got free shipping.
Definitely has less chain lube fling off on the bike anyways.

stunter 04-22-2019 02:00 PM

I use the same stuff... so far I like it... as for link I replace chain and sprockets a couple week ago and donít have a tool for master link so I ordered the screw type and it was easy to install with no issues

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vader225 (Post 3685979)
Yes, that's what I would do, other thing I recommend is using this chain lubricant. I've found it works a lot better than anything else I've used. Remember it's better to be a little bit loose than too tight.



https://i5.walmartimages.com/asr/1e1...0&odnBg=FFFFFF






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gixxer6002007 04-22-2019 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chuckster (Post 3685985)
Does your chain tool have spacer plates to prevent crushing an o=ring?

I dont have any spacer. Thanks for responding guys. I should be getting the new master link this wed so hopefully i can ride this weekend. Can i use the screw type link on D.I.D chain or just Ek?

Chuckster 04-23-2019 05:27 AM

Pressed links don't back out, ever.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome