Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at changing my triples to change my trail number. Stock is 97. What do you guys suggest? I'm thinking 101-102

·
Super Moderator
10,110 Posts
Welcome.

I can't help you with the answer but I'm in for the comments.

What are you trying to accomplish? More stability for drag racing?

Reactions: Tinsnips

·
SuperMod of the North
28,196 Posts
Same here John, I have no useable experience with this. It sounds like a @billv question or Maybe Chuckster or Jet.

Assuming you realize I just stated I don’t have experience here I’ll ask some questions that may or may not muddy the water.

Isn’t trail determined to some extent by rake? I thought rake was determined by the angle of the head stock.

The other factor I thought affected rake was the distance the axle was above the bottom of the forks - like you see on 60’s choppers.

Theoretically shouldn’t lengthening the forks tip the front up and provide a degree or two more rake? You may get a few millimetres more trail??

I have no idea. I’ll sit down with my pop corn amd watch with John.

·
Super Moderator
10,110 Posts
I have some trick triples for my sumo that have adjustable trail. Shorten the trail for tight courses, lengthen it for faster, more open corners (more stable). I'm curious what his goal is.

Everything else staying the same, pushing the forks forward increases trail. Changing rake or even bike attitude will affect trail. I see it on my DR when I'm descending on tight corners. The front is very compressed and the bike turns like a bandit.

·
SuperMod of the North
28,196 Posts
Yeah. I wondered if pushing the fork tubes down flush with the triples would accomplish enough.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·