Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys i'm new to this so bear with me. Like the forum too....anyways I have a 2004 GSXR750 with about 2000 miles on it and to my knowledge THERE HASNT BEEN ANY MAINTENANCE DONE IT.... I dont know why but thats the condition I got it in. I have purchased the air filter, oil, and a K&N air filter....please if any of u can assist me in anyway to change these it would be great....I know its easy to take it to a shop but I want to know the ends and outs so that I can do the work myself just in case.... :headscrat

·
Registered
3,280 Posts
its pretty basic...take off one of the side fairings, unscrew the drain plug, unscrew oil filter and replace :thumbup:

never did my air filter yet.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Probably will be just under 4 quarts. Put in three and then stand the bike up strait as you are pouring in the 4th till the oil level is in the middle of the oil bubble. then run it for a few minutes and recheck it, you'll probably have to add just a little more after you run it. Shouldn't hold over 4 quarts though.

·
Registered
274 Posts
while you're at it it won't be a bad idea to lube your chains, at 2000 miles your chain should still be tight but it won't hurt to check their slack, see your manual for recommended slack. also check your idle if it's too low, my bike's idle went low after break in (1000 miles) and i had to readjust the idle (just under the gas tank on the left side of the tank, it's exposed). as far as the oil goes, most mechanics i talked to said that try to keep the same type/kind of oil, this would be a good time to plan on what oil you'll be using everytime you change your oil. in case you don't know there are cheap oil filters at your local auto part store so you don' have to pay $15-$16 for a friggin' suzuki oil filter. enjoy your new bike

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·