Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the world of street bike motors. I am a car guy, I know Chevy engines pretty well but this is a different world to me.
I recently purchased a 07 GSXR1000 bike motor with the harness, headers, and everything else. I bought it off a friend and I was told the stator itself needs to be replaced. The motor is going into a quad.
Is their anyway to hook up the wiring harness and maybe make sure this motor runs without replacing the stator? Will the bike start with the bad stator in it if I have a fully charged battery? Anyway to "push start" it with the bad stator?
Now I haven't really taken a good look at this yet but is it possible to hook the starter directly to the battery and run it off a switch to avoid needing the ignition? or is their an easier way to go about doing this?
One of the header pipes is crushed pretty badly to the point where it is almost completely pinched closed, if I were to cut the pinched part out and sleeve it, would the difference in back pressure from one exhaust port screw anything up?
and of course, the million dollar question, I know open headers in a car will destroy the valves, but if I don't put a pipe on this motor and I don't have any form of exhaust right after the butterfly valve (that restricts the exhaust or whatever it does, with the 3 settings) will it cause harm to the motor? Atleast can I do it temporarily, I want to get it running and test it out before I dump a ton of money into this thing so the cheaper I can do all this the better.

·
Registered
552 Posts