Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the super bikes but i am a very prowd owner of my 02 GSXR 750. can anyone tell me why it will start and idle fine then within a min it will start to make a strange clickin sound coming from engine then it starts to idle roughly then if i try to give it any throttle response it instantly shuts off.. Thanks hope to get back on the rd .. Be safe everyone

·
Super Moderator
9,206 Posts
Welcome.

First, I'm not familiar with the cold start fast idle system on that year bike but that is about the time period (30 seconds) that most actuate before dropping to normal idle speed.

Does the bike start up quickly again after this happens? Can you hold the throttle open to keep it running and warm it up? If so, what is the warm idle speed?

As far as the strange clicking sound, does it go away when the bike warms up?

Reactions: Todd_Sails

·
Premium Member
1,288 Posts
The '01 and '02 do not have an "automatic" cold idle speed. They still have an enrichener lever on the left handlebar. Are you using it? Just to ask it again, will it start again after dying? How long have you had this bike? Is this a new problem?

·
Registered
2,809 Posts
Welcome and,

Did it always to this? Did you just get the bike? Did you test drive it?
Are you using the enrichment lever like the Spider mentions? (Good call btw)

Could you give us a little more info like that? Does it run OK anyways, or won't run at all?
Has the bike been sitting for long (months to years) periods of time?

Was it running fine when you just got it?

Enquiring minds want to know! LOL

Reactions: WhiteDeath

·
Registered
413 Posts
+1 Download a service manual if you haven't already. One of the sections ought to be titled something like Fl SYSTEM/INTAKE AIR SYSTEM/EXHAUST SYSTEM. Find the fuel pump flow rate test procedure and perform it.

"will start to make a strange clickin sound coming from engine"