Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,

So I just got this bike, 99 gsxr 600, w/ 20k miles. There's oil coming from the gear shaft (I think the seal isn't working) and it's coming out from the bearing (#31 and #32 are the areas I'm speaking about). I'm not a mechanic but I figured out where it's coming from. It was recommended by a friend to add a seal conditioner to the oil as it MIGHT fix it. Anyone have thoughts on that or experience with that ?

Apparently to complicate matters, I understand additives to oil are tricky since it's a wet clutch.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. And if someone knows of a cheap mechanic that's good in Southern NH who could fix this for real that would be great !

Attachments

·
Registered
180 Posts
Its worth a shot for a quick temporary fix but regardless that seal will need to be replaced.

·
rotaredom
9,582 Posts
i guess you have to ask yourself if its cheaper to fix it now, or replace the whole engine on an assumption it might work. i would not put that stuff in my bike...remember the oil shares not only the engine but the transmission as well as the clutch, and these engines spin at rpm's way more then standard engines. i understand you might be trying to find an inexpensive way of fixing your oil leak problem, but i dont think this will make it go away, and in the long run will end up costing you more.....imo

·
Registered
5 Posts
i guess you have to ask yourself if its cheaper to fix it now, or replace the whole engine on an assumption it might work. i would not put that stuff in my bike...remember the oil shares not only the engine but the transmission as well as the clutch, and these engines spin at rpm's way more then standard engines. i understand you might be trying to find an inexpensive way of fixing your oil leak problem, but i dont think this will make it go away, and in the long run will end up costing you more.....imo