Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Im new at this kind of thing and could use some help. I have an 01' gsxr 600. Im wanting to pop wheelies. I was told that if I drop down one tooth on the front sprocket it will help my torque, which in turn will help my wheelies.
How do I do this procedure? I need like a droping teeth from dummies book or something :) Also, once I get this done, does this mean I can just roll into a wheelie like in first or second gear? Thanks for the help.

Sorry one more ?. Do you think I should get a TRE also? I thought about droping the tooth in the front and getting a TRE, but dont know if that would really be necessary.

·
Registered
400 Posts
When you drop a tooth on the front sprocket, you will definitely be able to pull wheelies easier...you amy want to try that first, and if it's not enough, -1 in front and + 2 teeth in the rear will be perfect...no more than that though..also remember it throws your speedo off slightly, like I believe around 6% when you do -1 up front more when you do both, -1 tooth in the front is :thumbup: like going up 2.5 teeth in the rear..

·
Anti-squid moderator
6,476 Posts
By going -1 in front you will be able to wheelie "easier" but it will also come up faster and your gears will be shorter which means you will hit the rev-limiter faster and since you are new this means you will slam your front wheel down :D . Adding a TRE is nice too. You can easily power up first gear wheelies on stock gearing and at around 70mph you can even get 2nd up with some technique (not bouncing it up either). I have two friends of mine that can bounce up their stock 600's in 3rd all day. Just takes practice. My specialty is track riding but even my squidly wheelie skills can get my 600 up in 2nd without bouncing or clutching (I do have nice performance mods though :D )

·
Registered
2,244 Posts