Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I traded for an offroad buggy with a supposed 97 or 98 gsxr750 motor on it. I'm rather excited about the project and am looking forward to getting it running again. PO told me that all it should need is a wiring harness, which looks possible. (Buggy has other issues, running motor is step one) I have done the basics such as an oil change and confirmed that it's not locked up.

I hope someone has info on how to confirm what I have so I can work on it effectively? Also, I'm no pro, but I know enough, and I still cannot determine for sure whether I have carbs or FI. At first blush, I would have said carbs, but there's all sorts of sensors on it that only make sense to me if its injected. But I haven't found a fuel rail either. Was there a carved option with sensors on it? Appears to be a TPS and something else?

Eventually I'll need to know what fuel pressure I need, the tank that came with has no lid and is all rusted inside, so its junk, I hope to go with a real fuel cell and just find a suitable pump, but I know I'll need to know carbs/FI first. I cant confirm that the tank came from the same bike as the motor, but it seems reasonable to assume. Did the carb models have a fuel pump or where they gravity fed? Gravity makes the most sense, but I've seen low pressure feed pumps, so it makes me wonder?

Thanks all,

Bryce

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

Had pictures sent to me. Thought they might help. I think I managed to find that the R726 is a 97 motor? Also, it doesn't have a hard fuel rail, but it has rubber hoses in the same location as a picture I saw a fuel rail on. Settling into thinking it has to be carbs, but still confused by the sensors?

·
SuperMod of the North
25,773 Posts