Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am leaking fluid on my 04 Gsxr 600 I pretty sure I need to replace the fork seals and dust cover but I have never done it before. I have been watching videos on YouTube are there any tips I should be aware of or any info you want to pass on ?

·
Premium Member
8,555 Posts
The service manual also covers the process very well. It's not a hard job as long as you have some mechanical ability and any special tools if required.

Have you checked a local suspension shop to do the forks for you. The ones around me are pretty reasonable for a fork rebuild.

·
Registered
1,811 Posts
For rebuilds aren't hard, but to do it right you need a seal driver. Based on the age of the bike, you really shouldn't stop there and be satisfied with a pump and dump oil change. You'll want someone to completely disassemble, clean and put back together with new seals and maybe bushings too. It'll be cheaper than buying the tools to do it yourself. If you can take the legs off yourself, you've done a lot of the work already.

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
There is a regular over on 13X / WERA Forum- that says 95% of the time if he just uses some kind of seal cleaning tool - forgot what's it's called- that it takes care of it and doesn't leak anymore?
I've never tried it. But there are some pretty smart fellas over there, worth a shot?

As Chuck stated, brings the fork tubes out of the bike really cut the cost of the repair.

·
SuperMod of the North
25,204 Posts
There is a regular over on 13X / WERA Forum- that says 95% of the time if he just uses some kind of seal cleaning tool - forgot what's it's called- that it takes care of it and doesn't leak anymore?
I've never tried it. But there are some pretty smart fellas over there, worth a shot?

As Chuck stated, brings the fork tubes out of the bike really cut the cost of the repair.