Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
SuperMod of the North
28,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I hummed and hawed about where to put this. I was going to tack it on the build thread I did but the answers may be better searched if it is on it's own.

I have been commuting on the bike daily for a couple months now and it runs and handles great. I haven't done any spirited or aggressive riding, there just hasn't been time to go out and play a bit! At any rate, I went for a little run on the way home and put it into a corner hard enough the front tire had to do some work. I was not on the brakes when the bike tipped in and accelerated through and out of the turn. The problem is that the front wheel kinda skittered out a couple inches on me then caught and hooked up. I puckered the seat enough to stand the bike back up. Thinking it was sand or something on the road I gave it a shot again a couple miles later. Same thing, front tire slid out a couple inches before it caught.

I don't have much experience with suspension so I am looking for troubleshooting or suspension settings to check. Current conditions are as follows:

1989 GSXR 1100
Bike is completely stock with factory suspension setup per the manual
Forks have preload, compression and damping adjustment
Shock has preload and damping adjustment
Front tire is a Metzler - was a new unused tire installed and balanced when the rims were powder coated - running about 35psi in both tires
Rear tire is different (yay) Michelin Pilot - also new
Bike is at stock height with stock dog bones
Bike skipped the front on/between change from braking to power
Both were right hand turns - if that matters to anyone. I decided not to try it going left till I sort it out.