Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

I got the motorcycle bug a couple months ago. I took the MSF course and began shopping.

As a new rider that was looking for a 1st bike - I read through all the advice everybody had on various forums. I spoke with lots of friends that ride and weighed their input.

I ended up going with an '02 Suzuki SV650s. I've had it about a month now and have put about 650 miles on it.

I'm wondering.. at what point would someone normally be "ready" for a GSXR 600? :) I'm not saying that I have my SV650s mastered and am doing wheelies and all that (lol) - I just bought the SV650s as a sort of 'intro to gsxr'.

I guess what I'm asking, is At what point will I have 'fulfilled the prereq' to a gsxr :)

·
Registered
26 Posts
When you understand throttle control. Once you're comfortable using the throttle to accelerate, maintain, AND decrease speed as opposed to just accelerate, I'd say you're ready.

·
Registered
552 Posts
When you feel comfortable on the bike in any situation then your probably ready to upgrade. Once you feel youve gained enough experience and are ready for a new challenge. Its more of a personal thing. I dont get why your asking us?

·
Registered
205 Posts
I personally would ride the SV thru August, sell it, and purchase a GSXR this fall or winter when the craiglist prices and the new prices (for the 09s when the 10s come out) go down a bit.

Start shopping around now to get some ideas.

·
Registered
582 Posts
Nater hit the nail on the head... keep the SV for a bit longer.. 650 miles is nothing for a new rider... you could be a "natural" and I wouldnt think that youre riding that bike to its potential... not many riders (myself being at the top of that list) will ever ride what we own now to its potential. Above all else, do what is safe and right for you.. but thats my opinion. Good luck and I am glad your enjoying being up on two!

·
Registered
5,991 Posts