Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,332 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll update with a finished pic once I've painted it. I'm also going to permanently mount the 2/4 on the base. Save your comments on my ugly ass welds. I'm a novice welder using gasless wire. I can also post some dimensions if anyone wants to build their own. This build cost me about $100 in raw materials and isn't going to take up much space in the garage. Actual use will have another 2x4 block under the other end of the wheel.

Pre.jpg Post.jpg preTire.jpg postTire.jpg

·
Registered
550 Posts
I would've used a differing diameter of pipes as the handle for leverage & small rods of steel as a pin. A collapsible handle when it is not needed. Then you won't need the heavy jack.

·
Registered
2,332 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I actually thought about making it so I would have a 4' lever with a 50% force multiplier on it. But, my primary goal here was size. I already had a jack. Can't think of anytime I won't have a jack, so this is what I came up with. I even thought about making a hinged base with a small bottle jack permanently attached. I still might. What I think makes this design valuable is the large amount of travel it has. I can do a 240 rear, or a 110 front easy.

·
Registered
550 Posts
How would the "grab" end open & close?
I can see it closing or "grabbing" efficiently but you can't "release" easily.

I guess doing multiple tires would determine how much you like it.

·
SuperMod of the North
26,951 Posts
Nice job. Simple and effective is a sign of good engineering. Only thing I might add is a spring on the jack side of the pivot arm to make the arm retract when the jack is lowered. Now if you had a pneumatic cylinder and a foot switch....

·
Registered
2,332 Posts
Discussion Starter #7