Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Howdy, I'm stuck on a project and in need of knowledge.

I've been going through a track dedicated 2006 GSX R750 to bring her a little closer to
OEM spec. I'm doing this because I'm new to track riding and while a previous owner
did a great job prepping it for racing or serious track days e.g. smaller rims with racing slicks, lighter chain and a higher gear ratio amongst other things, I don't require the aggressive setup as I'm starting out.

The bike came with two sets of front and rear rims. The rear rim it had when purchased was 16.5" with slicks. As you'll see below it has a spacer welded on to what I believe is the distance collar.
20210222_122328.jpg

When the axle nut is torqued to spec it fits correctly:
20210222_122034.jpg

Here is the OEM rim I would like to put on:
20210222_122512.jpg

And here it is on the bike with the axel nut torqued to the same factory manual spec:

20210222_142538.jpg

As you can see, there is a considerable amount of space between the spacer and the swingarm - enough so the wheel can move side to side and the brake caliper doesn't fit tight. The OEM rim has all three of its spacers in the correct positions. I'm at a loss. Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,147 Posts
Wow, not sure on your spacer problem.
I remember reading on the WERA forum however that NOBODY uses 16.5" rims anymore? Anyone confirm this?

·
Registered
518 Posts
OP, you might be missing a part like a collar or the collars that you have are not OEM. Compare what you have with the drawings in the Chassis>Rear Wheel section of the service manual. There one showing an exploded parts diagram and another showing a cutaway cross section. Any chance that the swing arm has been changed?

Todd, I don't follow it but my impression was that 16½" wheels are obsolete. I'm not even sure that the tires are available any more.

·
Registered
7 Posts