Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
TL;DR bike gets really hot, really fast, fan kicks on, doesn't do anything, temp continues to rise, won't come down unless I begin riding. What is normal operating temp, when should I begin to worry about temp?

Hello everyone I am new to this site and just freshly upgraded from a grom to a beautiful (in my eyes) 2007 GSX-R750. Im new to the whole GSXR scene and I tried searching the forums but im either very dumb and cant read or I overlooked it. So bear with me.

Some details, i'm the third owner, I recently purchased the bike from a guy that had it for about 2 years and it was a leisure use bike for him. The guy before him is the first owner, and he owned it for about 11 years, he also used to track the bike on occasion. Anyways back to me, so when I purchased it, it had about 30,000 miles, as soon as I purchased it, I took it to a shop local to me and had them do a major service that included fluids, filters, valve adjustment (it didn't need it at 30k!) and a few miscellaneous things like tires, brakes, forks etc... So now we're starting with a fresh canvas, all new fluids. I went ahead and even replaced the radiator cap as those are known to lose pressure and cause the coolant to bubble.

Its about 80-100 degrees dry heat on average where I live, but gets down to 50-60 in the mornings and nights. So regardless of ambient temp, my bike gets really hot really fast. It basically climbs temp at a rate of 1 degree every two seconds. Even when the fan kicks on, it keeps getting hot, its like the fan doesnt do anything, it doesn't even slow down the rate at which the bike gains temp.

About the bike:
  • 30k miles
  • Well maintained, never been in an accident or dropped (as far as I know, and the shop said its very clean bike though)
  • Fully stock except for LED headlights and 2bros slip on exhaust (on 07 it deletes the cat), no tune/fuel management/power commander