Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry, I'm a newbie to bikes so take it easy on me. I just bought a 04 gsxr600 with about 6,500 miles on it and it seems to be pretty lagging below 3-4k rpm, mainly in 1st and 2nd. I realize this may just be the way the mapping is setup but I'm wondering if a power commander would help it out or if I just need to learn to deal with it. I don't like to drive the crap out of it when taking off and it makes it hard to get going the way it is now. Any help would be appreciated. :thumbup:

·
Premium Member
9,267 Posts
That's about right. You don't have to rev it way up, but you do need to get it past 5,000 to get a decent amount of acceleration out of it. I'm usually shifting around 5K even on my 750 when I'm riding it gently.

·
Registered
552 Posts
Its a 600cc sport bike. The powerband dosnt really start to kick in till 6-7k. With something that redlines at 15 or 16k, can you really expect it to have a bunch of low end power? You should have enough power to tool around town easily at 3-4k, but if you want her to actually move you gota get the RPM up a little.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah, I kinda figured that was the case. It just feels like it's almost going to stall out ya know. Not a big deal, but it's annoying. It's not really the cruising or shifting, it's just when I first start off it feels like it's going to bog out, sort of like a hesitation. I'm going to let my buddy drive it who's been riding bikes for a while and see if he thinks it's normal.

·
Registered
552 Posts
Well if its really that bad you could try doing some basic tune up things. New oil/filter (if you havnt already), new spark plugs, new air filter. Put good quality gas in it, high octane. I try to stay from the cheapo gas stations mostly. It shouldnt feel like its gona stall out, but they just dont have a lota pull till you get it wrapped up a little.

·
Registered
6 Posts