Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I am new to biking so bear with me please :D...I bought a 04 600 and it redlines in neutral however it will not go over 12000 rpms. To me it seems as though it should go faster than that. I changed the plugs, oil, air filter, and coolant since i bought it 3 wks ago. It runs perfect until i get to high rpms. I have only put 93 octane in it...ANY suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Redline

Not able to redline
Ok, I am new to biking so bear with me please ...I bought a 04 600 and it redlines in neutral however it will not go over 12000 rpms. To me it seems as though it should go faster than that. I changed the plugs, oil, air filter, and coolant since i bought it 3 wks ago. It runs perfect until i get to high rpms. I have only put 93 octane in it...ANY suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
So it redlines in neutral, but wont reach redline? I assume you mean it will reach rev-limitting at 12K RM in neutral but will not go any higher, and you believe it should reach the redline of ~15K RPM? As I recall, the engine is electronically restricted in neutral to keep people from grossly over-revving it and floating valves or what not. Try to reach redline in first or so, just not neutral, and see if the rev limiter goes any higher.

If however, it will not exceed 12K RPM in ANY gear, I would suspect that your gear sensor is unhooked or malfunctioning, such that it is telling the ECU the bike is always in Neutral.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry about that...i wasnt really clear. It will reach 16k in neutral however, it does not want to go over 12k in any gear. It seems as though it is just out of power. Last night i held it pegged in first gear for nearly 30 seconds before it reached 12.5K . I would assume that it is not getting aduquate fuel but that is about all i know.

·
Registered
4 Posts