Suzuki GSXR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hi i am new to the gixxer forums.. i purchased this 2008 gixxer 600 like a week ago..i was pretty busy so i couldn't ride it for a week, but last nite i took it her for a spin and after 20 miles of driving(after i stopped at a gas station to fill the tank) bike didn't start ...at first,i thought it could be the battery, since it was sitting at the shop for a long time; drainage seemed like a good reason for that(08 leftover i thought i got lucky)..wife gave me a jump start, and took it to the dealership today and i was told that i got a faulty R/R ...this is a brand new bike and covered under warranty hence it's gonna be replaced at no charge .. but my main question is how can a regulator/ rectifier go bad after 20 miles of driving?.. the guy at the dealership told me this is a common issue with 08/09 gixxers and they will replace with "revised" version of that.. however,after i read the threads here and there i learned this could be seen on any year mainly caused by heat (i live in florida, just so you know), so was he just giving bs? what if it goes bad during a long trip ? i am so frustrated b/c i heard ppl having electrical problems with their gixxers but never expected that to be this quick..i really like the bike over R6, CBR or ZX6R because of its design and comfort? what are my options? should i just return the bike and get myself a CBR instead ?( i heard they're reliable, even though i'm not a big fan of Honda)..sorry for the long post, any input would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
914 Posts