Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey everyone.

Im new to the world of GSXR, i recently bought a second hand 2000 model 750 SRAD, now my question is this, when she heats up to running temp, between 70 and 85c shell start doing what sounds like hunting (dips in idling) untill she cools down again, any advice on what to check? Seeing as the "check" comes on when i hit the kill switch.

Please be kind, as i said , im new

·
Super Moderator
9,145 Posts
Welcome.

I've heard a lot of bikes do this at idle to some degree. It would be best for it to be smooth but I'm not sure it is an issue.

Being a 20 year old bike there are probably plenty of services that should be done. Spark plugs, clean the fuel filters, check for cracked vacuum hoses and throttle body sync.

If I had to guess, the vacuum hoses is what I would check first.

"CHEC" coming on when you use the kill switch is normal. It just says that the ECM is no longer sending data to the cluster.

Post and intro, with pics of your bike, in the "new members and riders" section when you get a chance.

I also moved your thread to the tech section.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you so much.

The bike was serviced in full before i bought it by a proper bike mech, just dont know about the vacuum hoses though, could that happen only when the bike warms up?

·
Super Moderator
9,145 Posts
could that happen only when the bike warms up?
Possibly as the mixture changes with temperature. I'm just spit balling common idle problem causes and fractured vacuum lines on old bikes is one of them.

Reactions: Todd_Sails

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Oh ok thank you so much, i was a little hesitant to join a community, as i usually see ALOT of trolls bad mouthing new riders, and i dont have time for that shite

·
SuperMod of the North
26,539 Posts