Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

Throttle and shifting inquiry

2K views 11 replies 4 participants last post by  QRO 
#1 ·
Okay, so I’m new to the sport bike scene. My other bikes have always been cruisers. I don’t have anyone around my area that I can really ask the question so I figured I’d ask you all. Is it normal for the throttle of the bike to feel a bit (not really sure how to put it) stiff at certain speeds. I mostly notice it in 5th gear if I’m doing about 52-60mph. It’s not really a resistance but just feels strange to me. If I accelerate it goes away quickly. Not sure if this is a user issue, a bike issue, not an issue. This has by far been my favorite bike (my baby, if you will) and I think I’m still in that “every small thing I do may screw it up” phase.

bike info: 2022 Suzuki GSX-R750
Mileage: ~450-475.

#2 ·
Welcome to the forum.

Are you describing more of a hesitation or actually sticking of the throttle? Since you notice it more in a certain gear, I'm guessing the former.

If it is a slight hesitation, getting the rpm up (try a lower gear) should get you out of this area.

I'm guessing you are seeing the big difference between a v-twin cruiser where it makes lots of torque at 1500-2000 rpm and these bikes that are not real happy below 3500-4000 rpm and really start working right about 8k+.

When I'm on it, I shift to 2nd at about 80 mph to give you an idea of the engine range these bikes have.

#3 ·
You are correct. It’s a hesitation. That is a great word for it. It’s so odd to think that two styles of bikes would ride so differently. When I come into 5th I’m usually running 3-4k rpms. I think I need to get out of that high rpms = bad mentality that is kinda engrained. I’m just so glad you understood what I was talking about. Thank you.

#4 ·