Suzuki GSXR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
is it scary to take big turns on a bike? i dont really have a whole lot of riding experience but it seems like itd be kinda scary to take big turns and stuff like that. sorry im a real newbie when it comes to most of this stuff.
thanks

·
Registered
869 Posts
It is scary the first few times that you dive into turn. Then you figure out the capabilities of your bike. Just remember this....."Don't outride yourself!" The bike will keep up with you not the other way around.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks man that whole bike keepin up with me thing made alot of sense. ive never really ridden a sports bike (dirt bikes a couple times) but im real anxious to by my first sports bike. it just seems like a lot of fun. thanks for the help man.

·
Registered
1,517 Posts
just like ^^^ he said at first it is. the more and more you do it the farther you start goin in and faster you start takin it, then you get use to it and it becomes second nature, its nothin to lean into a turn hittin triple digits. since your gettin a bike dude you should really do track day after you get your bike it will help you out alot.

·
Registered
245 Posts
For the first, I would say week, I was scared as hell to power through turns, but as I progressed I have gotten more comfortable. We did a twistie ride recently, and i was scrapin shit in the turns. After practicing in parking lots and such, my favorite thing about riding is turning. You will get used to it, and remember, your bike is capable of anything, its you that needs to practice.

·
Registered
7 Posts
The best advice I can give is to find a track based riding school where you can get as much practice as you can in a much safer environment than the roads. A good credo to remember is slow in fast out. It is much easier to speed up through a corner than it is to scrub off too much speed.

·
Registered
7 Posts